Skip navigation

Sié Chéou-Kang CenterPrivate Security Monitor

Industry Regulation

ANSI/ASIS International Standards

Founded in 1955, ASIS is a society of individual security professionals dedicated to increasing the effectiveness and productivity of security professionals by developing educational programs and materials. ASIS is an ANSI-accredited Standards Developing Organization, and within ASIS the ASIS Commission on Standards and Guidelines works with national and international standards-setting organizations and industry representatives to develop voluntary standards and guidelines for security professionals. With funding from the U.S. Department of Defense, the ASIS Commission on Standards is currently promulgating four sets of standards for private security companies.

PSC.1 - Management System for Quality of Private Security Company Operations-Requirements with Guidance


PSC.2 - Conformity Assessment and Auditing Management Systems for Quality of Private Security Company Operation


PSC.3 - Maturity Model for the Phased Implementation of a Quality Assurance Management System for Private Security Service Providers


PSC.4 - Quality Assurance and Security Management for Private Security Company's Operating in the Maritime Environment


ASIS/ANSI PSC.1 Adoption by Countries

Two countries have adopted ASIS standards for their private security contracting. After the approval by ANSI of ASIS PSC.1 in May of 2012, the United States Department of Defense adopted the standard. The U.S. specifies in its DFARS regulations that all contracts with private security providers must use PSC.1. In December of 2012, the United Kingdom announced that PSC.1 would be the standard for all its future private security contracts.